This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.


Albania, officially Republic of Albania is small, mountainous country in Southeast Europe which covers an area of 28.748 sq km situated in the southwestern part of the Balkan Peninsula. Albania shares a border with Greece to the south/southeast, Macedonia to the east, Serbia-Kosovo to the northeast, and Montenegro to the northwest. Western Albania lies along the beautiful Adriatic and Ionian Sea coastlines of nearly 450 km, with the Adriatic Sea running from the Montenegrin border south to the Bay of Vlora, where the Ionian Sea begins, along the road that offers one of the most scenic and spectacular views along the Adriatic and Ionian coasts. The Adriatic Sea separates Albania from Italy via the Strait of Otranto /72 km/. Southern Albania extends from the strong curves Devoll (north) to the south border in length 130 km from the city of Leskovik (east) up to Vlora Bay (west) with a width approximately 46 km. The rivers of Albania that flow into the Adriatic Sea have created fertile alluvial plains on these lowlands and, at their mouths, exceptionally rich wetlands, which are home to many waterfowl and migratory birds.

Population of Albania is 3,5 million inhabitants. Religions of Albanian population: Muslim /ca 70 %/, Orthodox /ca 20 %/ and Catholic /ca 10 %/. Albania is visited by more than 4.2 million tourist every year (more than its population of 3.1 million). According to a 2010 survey, religion today plays an important role in the lives of only 39% of Albanians, and Albania is ranked among the least religious countries in the world.

More Information